Advisory Board

Heritage is governed by an Advisory Board made up of representatives from the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board (OTPPB), Heritage’s President & CEO, and independent members, including an independent Chairman. Heritage’s Board provides strategic oversight and corporate governance. The Board offers extensive experience in the areas of finance, accounting, asset management, corporate finance, public equity markets, and natural resources-focused investment management.


Jim Dinning

Independent Chairman
Chair of the Governance & Compensation Committee

Jim Dinning provides deep experience in corporate governance, finance and organizational effectiveness. He is chair of the boards of two publicly traded companies: Russel Metals Inc. and Western Investment Company of Canada Ltd. Mr. Dinning serves on the boards of Desjardins-owned Zag Bank and Quirk Logic, a new technology business headquartered in Calgary, Alberta.


Glenn McNamara

President & CEO, Heritage Royalty Limited Partnership
Member of the Audit Committee, Governance & Compensation Committee and Reserve Committee

Glenn McNamara has over 30 years of oil and gas exploration and production experience in North and South America, Europe and the Asia Pacific region. He received his MBA from the University of Calgary in 1988 and his B.Sc. in Mining Engineering from the University of Alberta in 1978. Mr. McNamara is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta and a past Governor of the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers.


Ziad Hindo

Senior Managing Director, Capital Markets, OTPP

Ziad Hindo manages the OTPP’s Capital Markets group, which comprises centralized trading with treasury and execution capabilities to support all of the OTPP’s investment groups. This team is responsible for executing a centralized trading strategy that allows the investment fund to focus on the needs of today’s more sophisticated trading environment, with its increasing regulatory complexity, and the risks inherent in both. In addition, the Capital Markets group provides reliable income through fixed income and alternative investments.


Stephen McLennan

Managing Director, Natural Resources, OTPP
Member of the Audit Committee and Governance & Compensation Committee

Stephen McLennan is responsible for managing the OTPP’s allocation to natural resources, including direct private assets such as timberland, oil and natural gas, and mining and agriculture. He joined the OTPP in 2003 and has held positions of increasing responsibility in the capital market and private asset-related groups. Before joining the OTPP, Mr. McLennan spent over three years with Merrill Lynch’s investment banking team in Calgary and, prior to that, two years with the Canadian operations of Archer Daniels Midland.


Christopher Metrakos

Director, Natural Resources, OTPP
Member of the Audit Committee, Governance & Compensation Committee and Reserve Committee

Christopher Metrakos is a member of the OTPP’s Natural Resources group, where he is responsible for the investments in the energy sector. He joined the OTPP in 2014, prior to which he spent approximately 10 years with a leading unregulated energy company, investing in energy and retail customer businesses across North America and internationally. Mr. Metrakos started his professional career by working for five years in corporate finance, having roles at two different global investment banking firms in Toronto and London, England. Mr. Metrakos also sits on the board of Atlantic Aqua Farms.


Deborah Stein, FCPA

Independent Member
Chair of the Audit Committee

Deborah Stein is a corporate director with extensive experience in corporate governance, leadership and finance. She brings to her role over 30 years of experience in the areas of finance, accounting, capital markets, investor relations and financial management. Ms. Stein is a member of the Board of Directors of Parkland Fuel Corporation, Trican Well Services Ltd., NuVista Energy Ltd. and CEDA International. She was also a Trustee of the Calgary Zoological Society and is Past Chair of the Board of Financial Executives International, Canada.


Ken Woolner, P.Eng.

Independent Member
Chair of the Reserve Committee

Ken Woolner has over 30 years of experience in the oil and natural gas industry and currently is President, Chief Executive Officer and a Director of Velvet Energy Ltd., a private Calgary-based exploration and production company. He is also Chairman of the Board of Directors of Brompton SI Fund Management Limited. From February 2006 to June 2011 Mr. Woolner served as a corporate director. From April 2005 to February 2006 he was Executive Chairman of White Fire Energy Ltd., a publicly traded oil and gas company operating in Western Canada, and a trustee of Sequoia Oil & Gas Trust. Mr. Woolner founded and served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Lightning Energy Ltd. from December 2001 to April 2005, when it merged with Argo Energy Ltd. to create Sequoia Oil & Gas Trust and White Fire Energy Ltd.


Dale Burgess

Senior Managing Director, Infrastructure & Natural Resources

Dale Burgess leads the Infrastructure and Natural Resources department and is responsible for overseeing infrastructure acquisitions and asset management globally. He was previously head of the Infrastructure & Natural Resources team for Latin America where he oversaw portfolio companies as well as business development and origination in target countries across the LATAM region.